EX ANIMO “Neverday”

Metal Scrap Records, 2016

Music: Doom/Gothic Metal
Duration: 49:53 minutes (8 tracks)
Country: Ukraine


The female-male band from Ukraine first time got in my hands to I could listen to them and rate their work that to offer their album to other listeners. “Neverday” is the band’s second full-length album with a dark inspirational cover. The band formed in 2000 and is an active band on the music scene.

A disc contains eight songs. From the first and title track, the music seemed to me interesting. So, I was more eager to listen to more songs. The male line-up was supplemented in 2008 by a woman with an interesting, clean, singing vocal, whish gave the songs a climate of lightness. And I think it was accurate supplement to the band. Additionaly, the dark, hard-sounding, male vocal gives an aggressiveness and sharpness to the songs. Together, the both vocals sounds great. I’m a fan of NIGHTWISH with Tarja Turunen on vocals, so I like the music in this kind of male-female connection. And in addition in a good, professional performance is very delicious.

This band is really impressive. The interwoven male-male vocals fantastically build a tension and their permeation in the songs sounds like an interesting conversation. Such compositions and musical arrangements remind NIGHTWISH or THE GATHERING from the first albums.

Ukraine once again saved their music scene and proved their artistic professionalism, which is confirmed by the high quality of the tracks. The musicians have created a work of art and they can boldly conquer music scene with their Metal. This album has a rich, elaborate music, which in addition has interesting vocals and is exceptional. The instruments play fascinating and entrancing. This is a collection of outstanding sounds that give chills. The instrumental interesting introductions to the tracks, the extended solos, the dignified sounding keys make you are hungry, you feel desire for more.

I feel that I found another band for me and I already know that EX ANIMO without problem will find even more fans.

1. Neverday
2. Aeons of Sadness
3. Soulglass
4. Spring Covered with Snow
5. Shattered Universe
6. The Memories of a Broken Man
7. Scream of Silence
8. Just Tired (Outro)

Aleksey Semenyakin – Drums
Victor Kotlyarov – Guitars
Andriy Lunko – Vocals, Guitars
Yevhenii Pavlov – Bass
Yulia Zhukova – Vocals

Rate: 10/10

About the author / 




Tour Dates

  • Apricity European Tour 2018

    Tour line up: Atra Vetosus (Australia), Perennial Isolation (Spain), Drawn Into Descent (Belgium) and Nocturnal Depression (France) “Special Guest”.


Metal Centre Polish Version